Playa de Rodiles, Villaviciosa

It is located off the coast of the Cantabrian Sea between the councils of Sariego, Nava, Cabranes, Piloña, Gijón, Siero and Colunga, and is well known for its cider, wineries and pumaraes (apple plantation)..


One of the most relevant events was the landing and lodging in the villa of the then prince, Carlos V, on September 19, 1517. Due to a storm, the king disembarked in the fishing port of Tazones, staying three days and four nights in Villaviciosa. Every year there is a recreation (for 35 years) of this event, which is also a Festival of Regional Tourist Interestp>

Villaviciosa estuary
Reserva Ria de Villaviciosa desde Selorio

ría de Villaviciosa (since 1995 included in the Regional Network of Protected Natural Areas of the Principality of Asturias, as a Partial Nature Reserve) runs 8 km inland from El Puntal and Playa de Rodiles to the town of Güetes. At European level, the estuary has received the declaration of Community Place of Interest (SCI), and Special Protection Area for Birds (ZEPA), becoming part of the Natura 2000 Network. It has also become part of the List of Wetlands of International Importance (RAMSAR), due to the great interest in preservation.


There are wide coastal areas, with a 28-kilometer coastal strip with cliffs and the following beaches: Misiego, Rodiles, El Puntal, Tazones, Merón, Spain, Ñora, and de la Conejera. Rodiles beach is one of the most extensive and best preserved in Asturias, highlighting the fauna species that inhabit it, such as migratory and wintering birds, with more than 150 species. Next to this beach is the town of Selorio, where the Rodiles Rural apartments are located..

Las mejores playas de Asturias
Lastres y Tazones: Fishing ports

These two towns are old fishing villages where the visitor can enjoy its cobbled streets, with old houses built on slopes, gastronomy being a reference in Asturias. Highlight the "route of Doctor Mateo" in Lastres, a well-known television series, in which all the filming points are visited..


Villaviciosa is made up of 41 parishes: Amandi, Ambás, Argüero, Arnín, Arroes, Bedriñana, Breceña, Camoca, Candanal, Carda, Careñes, Castiello, Cazanes, Headpiece, Coro, El Busto, Fuentes, Grases, La Llera, La Magdalena, Lugás, Mar, Miravalles, Niévares, Oles, Peón, Priesca, Puelles, Quintes, Quintueles, Rales, Rozadas, San Justo, Santa Eugenia, Selorio, Tazones, Tornón, Valdebárzana, Vallés, Villaverde La Marina, and Villaviciosa..

Heritage: Prerrománico and Románico

Among all the churches and chapels, those classified as Assets of Cultural Interest stand out: Santa María de la Oliva Church (13th century), San Salvador de Valdedios Church, El Conventín (9th century), Santa María de Valdedios Monastery and Church (13th century), Church of San Salvador de Priesca (10th century), Church of San Andrés de Valdebárcena (12th century), Church of San Juan de Amandi (12th century), Church of Santa María de Llugás (12th century) ), Church of Santa Eulalia de La Lloraza (12th century), Church of Santa María de Arbazal (17th century), Church of San Emeterio (16th century), Church of Santa María de Sariegumuertu (11th century), Church de Santo Tomás (13th century), Chapel of the Martyrs San Cosme and San Damián (13th century)..

Villaviciosa in the map

Our apartments

Visit us


Selorio, Villaviciosa

Telephone: +34 630 639 146

Fax : +34 985 996 041

E-mail :